Ana Burns

Past President

Environmental Consultant, Davey Resource Group


Ana Burns is the Senior Area Manager of Environmental  Services for Davey Resource Group’s northern Ohio office. She received an M.S.E.S. in Applied Ecology degree from Indiana University  School of Public and Environmental Affairs and holds a B.S. in Biology, from Indiana University.

Her team at Davey provides comprehensive consulting services to governments,  development companies, and engineering/design firms. Services provided include ecological consulting, ecosystem restoration,  and urban and community forestry consulting. Ana is responsible for business development, client and project management, and supervision of the 45 biologists, restoration ecologists, and urban foresters working out of DRG’s main environmental consulting office located in Kent.

Ana has over 22 years of experience in the natural resources and ecological restoration fields. She has managed a variety of ecological surveys and environmental planning studies, as well as of ecological and wetlands permitting projects, mitigation bank planning and monitoring projects, and natural resource restoration design projects. She is knowledgeable of state and federal stream and wetlands regulations, all aspects of Section 401 and 404 permitting, isolated wetland regulations,  the federal mitigation rule for compensatory mitigation and its application to mitigation banking, and stormwater management.

Ana has coordinated and facilitated public meetings and hearings and has assisted in developing various planning documents,  including greenways planning, watershed planning, and urban forestry management plans. With a background in urban and rural planning,  she is well versed in working with planning commissions, steering committees, and local political groups.

Ana is the president of Tinker’s Creek Watershed Partners through December 2022 and is on the board of directors for the Ohio Stormwater Association. She also serves on the Cuyahoga Area of Concern Advisory Committee and the District 8 (Summit County) Natural Resource Assistance Council.